The Shorthand (after a long time)

For those who don’t know. And for Fernando, who doesn’t believe. 

I remember the exact moment I felt the quickening of my reluctant heart. We were talking, sharing desert and I watched you close your eyes and part those soft full lips in tandem. You accepted the offering and closed those broody beautiful eyes like saying a prayer. 

And I knew you were a kindred. 

You challenge me in untold ways.  You showed me muscles I didn’t know I had. 

Yours is one of a kind, keep you warm when the winds blow kind of love. 

A private island meant for misfits kind of thing that fits like a glove. 

And I get to share it with you. 

You’re unyielding nature can make for high tides, it’s true- 

But it’s all wrapped in the magic myriad that is you. 

myman

Leave a Reply

