Mommy Moments

What are little boys made of?
Snips and snails, and puppy dogs tails
That’s what little boys are made of!

(19th century nursery rhyme)

Meet Maxwell, he’s five.

 

maxwell

And if you haven’t heard this yet, you will soon enough… I can do it, by myself! It doesn’t matter what it is. He can do it. He can cook, he will put on an apron, get a kitchen ladder, the one I have to use because I’m too short for the tall cupboards, and he will stir, break eggs, add ingredients and will proudly announce, “I’m a good cooker! I’m Chef Maxwell!” this usually happens on stormy days spent inside. Change the channel, find our favorite game, reach the story book on the top shelf, speak another language, beat the level on Little Big Planet, start the car.. my advice to anyone who has the honor of caring for this kid in his Super Mom’s absence? Don’t turn your back. You just don’t wanna know what he’ll get up to. 

He’s not always going to believe in magic, or want the crust cut off his peanut butter sandwiches. And some day I wont be his average, everyday super MOM. But I am today, and he told me I have an invisible cape and he asked how I can see inside his brain to know when he is up to no good. And… when I am de-throned it will hurt, but for now… for today I am SUPER MOM, hear me roar!

 

5 thoughts on “Mommy Moments

  1. Thanks for the memory – roar long and loud because this bit’s over too fast; the good news is that every stage actually get better in its own way 😀

Leave a Reply

